Microfluidics for label-free particle sorting


Workshop, 5-6 Sept 2017

European Workshop on Label Free Particle Sorting, 5-6 September 2017, Lund, Sweden


More information about the Programme, Speakers, Registration, Abstract Submission, Venue



Please register and upload your abstract at the registration site

Note: this will take you to a Delegia-site



Confirmed Invited Speakers

Prof. Mehmet Toner, Harvard University, USA

Prof. Jochen Guck, TU Dresden, Germany

Henric Bergman, National Forensic Centre, Linköping, Sweden

Prof. Joseph Ndung'u, FIND, Switzerland

Dr. Mark Sutton, Public Health England, UK

Prof. Henrik Bruus, DTU, Denmark





Microfluidic label-free particle fractionation based on the inherent properties of particles (e.g. cells, microorganisms, organelles) offers significant advantages over conventional techniques in terms of ease of handling and usage, speed, and reduction in cost. We aim here to utilise our comprehensive network and solid experience to put to use several microfluidics technologies to address important biomedical problems.

This workshop has three interdisciplinary and inter-related themes based on understanding and exploiting label-free particle analysis:

trypanosome under microscope Parasites – improve diagnosis by enriching parasites that occur at low concentrations;
SEM photo of bacteria Bacteria: sorting of bacteria in different subpopulations based on morphology that is connected to pathogenicity;
microphoto of a stem cell Rare cells: enrich rare stem cells for therapeutic use;

To tackle these challenges we will cover a wide range of technologies such as:

micro-and nanosystem components Materials, processing and simulation of micro- and nanosystem components
microfluidic sorting Microfluidics
photo of microfluidic impedance cytometry chip Integrated optics and electronics

Oral presentations may be given by invited international experts, researchers, successful entrepreneurs, and experienced industry people.
Poster sessions are planned in connection to the presentations where researchers and companies can present their scientific work in the respective areas.

See further under Abstract Submission, and Registration




More information about the Workshop, Speakers, Programme, Registration, Abstract Submission, Venue





Programme Committee

Jonas Tegenfeldt, Lund University
Hywel Morgan, University of Southampton
Lisa Ranford-Cartwright, University of Glasgow
Michael Barrett, University of Glasgow
Birgitta Henriques-Normark, Karolinska Institutet
Thomas Laurell, Lund University
Jochen Guck, TU Dresden
Gerhard Gompper, FZ Juelich


© Stefan Holm 2014, last updated 15/06/2017